Prices are published
Three plans with clear numbers, plus an explicit commitment to no per-passport charges. In a market where most vendors answer only on request, that is a real advantage for planning.
Minespider is one of the few vendors that publish their prices: €11,900 to €34,500 a year, flat, with unlimited passports. That is fair, and it is what makes this comparison possible at all. Batteriepasswerk starts at €0 and scales with volume. Below a few thousand passports a year the difference is a multiple; above that it is worth doing the maths.
Minespider, based in Berlin, comes from raw-material traceability and offers the battery passport together with provenance evidence for materials. Its pricing page lists three plans at €11,900, €19,700 and €34,500 a year, tiered by number of users, with unlimited passports and models under fair use.
Batteriepasswerk tiers the other way round: user seats are generous, passport volume sets the plan. Pilot is free, Starter is €1,788 a year for up to 2,000 passports, Pro €5,388 for up to 25,000. Above that you pay five cents per additional passport, or move to Enterprise from €15,480 a year.
provenance evidence for raw materials is core to your remit, you prefer a flat fee with no volume ceiling, or you need an installation in your own data centre.
you want to try before committing an annual budget, expect a few hundred to a few thousand passports a year, and value an entry point that costs nothing and a bill that grows with your volume.
Minespider does several things exemplarily, and we say so plainly even though we compete in the same market.
Three plans with clear numbers, plus an explicit commitment to no per-passport charges. In a market where most vendors answer only on request, that is a real advantage for planning.
The company comes from mineral traceability and connects the passport with provenance data. Where responsible sourcing has to be evidenced, that is more than passport content alone.
The website names customers and partners from the commercial vehicle and battery industries and points to Catena-X onboarding. For companies that require an on-premise installation, the option exists.
Price is where the gap is widest, but it is not the only argument. These six come up most often from manufacturers who choose us.
The Pilot plan is permanently free: one model, 25 passports a year, a real QR code, a real passport page. You see the result before discussing budget, and nobody has to request a quote for it.
€149 a month for your first serious production run, €449 once several product lines join. Exceed the quota and each further passport costs five cents, instead of forcing you into the next plan.
Suppliers deliver through a token link without an account, reminders go out automatically after 7 and 14 days, and values from evidence documents are proposed and released individually. Every value carries its provenance.
The score per model is calculated against the official EU data-point list, differentiated by category, cut-off date, second-life exemption and declared non-applicability. What does not apply is shown as not applicable rather than quietly disappearing.
SHA-256 hash chain across all versions, append-only audit trail, publicly verifiable without an account. Included in every plan, the free one as well.
Data sits in Germany, and the data processing agreement is generated as a PDF at signup and sent with your welcome email. No chasing your data protection officer before you are allowed to start.
Worked example: at 2,000 passports a year it is €1,788 against €11,900. At 25,000 passports it is €5,388 against €11,900. Only at very high volumes, which fall into our Enterprise plan, does the flat fee turn into the advantage - and then the honest recommendation is to price both offers against your actual numbers.
The plans are not like for like: Minespider caps users and leaves passport counts open, Batteriepasswerk caps passports and is more generous on users. So compare against your own volume, not against the plan names. Our Enterprise plan is deliberately absent from the chart: it starts at 1,290 euros a month and is agreed on model and passport volume, so it is not a list price you can put next to these bars.
All Minespider entries come from minespider.com, retrieved 9 September 2026, the prices from its pricing page. "Not stated" means the public website does not disclose it.
| Criterion | Batteriepasswerk | Minespider |
|---|---|---|
| Primary purpose | Create, maintain and serve battery passports under EU 2023/1542 | Battery passport plus provenance evidence for raw materials |
| Entry price | €0 on Pilot, €1,788 a year from Starter | €11,900 a year (DBP Base) |
| Middle tier | €5,388 a year (Pro, up to 25,000 passports) | €19,700 a year (DBP Plus, up to 10 users) |
| Top tier | from €15,480 a year (Enterprise, volume by agreement) | €34,500 a year (DBP Enterprise, unlimited users; service levels and SLAs quoted separately) |
| Pricing model | Tiered by passport volume, €0.05 per passport above quota | Flat fee by number of users, passports unlimited under fair useCompetitor strength |
| Free entry point | Yes, Pilot with 1 model and 25 passports a year | Not stated |
| User seats | 5 on Starter, 10 on Pro, more on Enterprise | 3 / 10 / unlimited depending on plan |
| Raw-material provenance | No, deliberately out of scope | Yes, the vendor's core competenceCompetitor strength |
| QR code per unit | GS1 Digital Link, listed in the GS1 PINE directory | Battery passport with QR access, format not stated |
| Supplier data without an account | Yes, token link with automatic reminders | Not stated |
| Live BMS telemetry | Yes, ingest API for state of charge and state of health from Pro | Not stated |
| Interface for ERP and MES | REST API v1 to OpenAPI 3.1, keys scoped per permission, add-on to Enterprise | Not stated |
| Hosting | Germany, data processing agreement issued automatically at signup | On-premise deployment named as an optionCompetitor strength |
| Headquarters | Hamburg, Germany | Berlin, Germany |
All statements without warranty, as of 9 September 2026. Prices for both vendors are net, per their public pricing pages. Batteriepasswerk is itself a vendor in this comparison. Corrections to info@batteriepasswerk.com are verified and added with a date.
You do not have to cancel anything to compare. Create a model in parallel and see how far you get in fifteen minutes.
Category and cut-off date decide which of the 71 EU data points apply. The completeness score shows what is missing and jumps straight to the field.
Read in serial numbers as CSV or Excel, one passport per row. Data from another system comes in through the same import or through the API.
After the import you know your real annual volume and can compare both offers against the same number instead of against plan names.
From 18 February 2027 every traction battery, every light-means-of-transport battery and every industrial battery above 2 kWh needs a passport to be placed on the EU market. No pricing plan replaces complete and evidenced data.
So the selection should hang on how you obtain other people's data and how you evidence that it is correct. Price is then the second criterion, not the first.
Raw-material tracing versus a finished passport, with a timeline
Verifiable credentials versus a verifiable hash chain
The overview of SaaS, enterprise platform and building it yourself
Deliver the passport under your own brand
All Minespider statements come from publicly accessible sources retrieved on 9 September 2026, the prices from the vendor's pricing page. They reflect that day and may change.
Disclosure: Batteriepasswerk is itself a battery passport software vendor and therefore an interested party in this comparison. That is why we compare only verifiable, published criteria and name the competitor's strengths explicitly.
Import a handful of serial numbers on the free Pilot plan and see how many passports your year really needs. After that the price comparison is arithmetic instead of guesswork.